a retraction sorta/kinda …

There has been a lot of criticism of the whole kony2012 campaign, but I can’t help but wonder how many people have actually really looked into both sides and not formed their opinions based on one article. I admit, I was quick to jump on the bandwagon and since have spent a lot of time reading many articles. As someone who has been involved with Invisible Children many years ago, I feel that this article raises some critical points/flaws regarding this current campaign. It is written by Patrick Wegner (“PhD student at the University of Tübingen and the Max-Planck-Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. Working on the impact of International Criminal Court investigations on ongoing intrastate conflicts“) It is a FAIR article in my opinion.

I still believe that something needs to change. Joseph Kony is a very bad man. I still believe he needs to be stopped. I still believe that the people of Invisible Children mean well and have the right hearts. I cannot criticize people who have given so much of themselves and their lives because they desire change and justice. I desire that too. So for those of you who are interested in reading a well written criticism and not just one slamming the efforts of the Invisible Children (whom most people probably don’t know anything about), I encourage you to check out this article.

HERE.

thoughts? feel free to comment!

